The Elms was built in 1866 in an English-Louisiana raised cottage style. The wood was transported by oxen and mules from the Arkansas River. The bricks were made and fired on site. The original glass paned windows are still a part of this beautiful, historic structure. Guests will admire the solid walnut staircase as they glide upstairs to the guest quarters. The Drawing Room features fascinating portraits of the Plantation Matriarchs from 1866 to the present. Learn about the German Prisoners of WWII who were held here and worked on the plantation. A concrete and brick bird bath built by the prisoners, still remains today as our beautiful birds come for a drink. Kimberly V. Freeman is a native of Altheimer and grew up on a cotton farm outside of Wabbaseka. She is the owner and operator of The Elms Plantation, LLC, where everyday she enjoys the country, farm life and traditions of the Ole South.